Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

for the official blurb look here

my blurb-
Hiding the death of her brother, a girl named Rachel comes back into town in an attempt to her avoid her friend Henry who she grew up in love with.

3.85 out of 5 stars

This is an obscure rating but I felt like this SHOULD be a 4 star book. The story was good, and the multiple literary references was captivating.  The characters had real struggles and it ended in a more realistic way than most novels.

the problems in the book were this- one it took me quite a while throughout the novel to remember that George was a girl, so off and on through the story i had to completely re-imagine the character.

Also Henry was mostly annoying. so reading from his perspective repeatedly was not enjoyable.

The scenery was picturesque, and the loss of self when you deal with the loss of life from someone so closed to you was realistic and beautiful.  My favorite scene was the book club when so many people talked about loss of loved ones- because Rachel has the realization that so many people around are swimming in the ocean of broken hearts.

For fans of The Fault in Our Stars and Jane Austen Book Club.

.Dux.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s